WLRH Events

Burritt on the Mountain's Majestic Minerals – Nature’s Building Blocks

Date: 

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Wednesday until Mon Sep 01 2014 .
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Sunday, June 8, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Sunday, June 15, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Sunday, June 22, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Sunday, June 29, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Sunday, July 6, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Sunday, July 13, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Sunday, July 20, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Sunday, August 3, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Sunday, August 24, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Sunday, August 31, 2014

Description: 

Burritt on the Mountain presents an exhibit of minerals and gemstones. The beauty of gold has captured the imagination since antiquity. If one is very lucky, it is easy to recover, and easy to form into jewelry and art objects. It has other useful properties, does not corrode, and retains a high value. Gold is both an element and a mineral, but it is only one of 118 known elements and one of over 4000 minerals. Elements and minerals display a wide variety of beautiful colors and exotic crystal shapes. Minerals combine to form rocks, which are old, heavy, hard, and ugly, or are they? Nature has provided us with a variety of rocks that are not only necessary for our society, but are often beautiful and treasured. Sometimes we see only the rough exterior, and miss the inner beauty. So it is, with rocks. In conjunction with the Gold Mountain summer program, the exhibit will explore rocks and minerals, how they form, and where they might be found in Alabama. This includes a large sampling of these beautiful wonders of nature. Earth science students may find the exhibit both useful and entertaining.

Event Phone Number: 

256-536-2882

©2014 WLRH PUBLIC RADIO

Address

WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions

Phone

LOCAL:
(256) 895-9574

TOLL-FREE:
(800) 239-9574