News Stories

WLRH wins honors at ABA 2020 ABBY awards

Sunday, March 8, 2020

Radio and Television professionals from across Alabama attended the fourteenth annual Alabama Broadcasters Association’s “Best in Broadcasting Awards”, otherwise known as the ABBYs, on Saturday, March 7th at The Club in Birmingham.

WLRH was excited to receive two ABBY awards this year. The WLRH Mobile App won Best Radio Large Market App and "One Giant Leap" won a Judges Award of Merit for Public Affairs Program. WLRH Promotions Specialist, Rebecca Goodwin and WLRH General Manager, Brett Tannehill accepted the awards on behalf of WLRH. WLRH Radio Producers Katy Ganaway, Nate Emery, Sarah Williamson, and Dorrie Nutt also attended the dinner and ceremony.

Alabama Public Televison, WLRH's sister station, won Best Local Programming for their digital series about arts in Alabama- Monograph.

WXFL-FM, Muscle Shoals was named 2020 RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR, and WHNT-TV, Montgomery received the 2020 TV Station of the Year honor.

Check out all the full list of ABBY award winners and the entries on the ABA website.



WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions


(256) 895-9574

(800) 239-9574