Sundial Writers Corner (TN Valley writers podcast)

The Sundial Writers Corner is one of WLRH's longest running programs and greatest traditions. For more than 20 years, Sundial has featured prose and poetry submitted by talented Tennessee Valley wordsmiths. Each weekday at 9:30am during Morning Blend and 6:44pm during All Things Considered, a different voice from your community is heard in “The Writers Corner.” Enjoy commentaries, short stories, poems and everything in between, told in the voice of the author. Many of our writers have received awards at the state and national level, while others are exhibiting their creative abilities for the first time.

Would you like to submit to the Sundial Writer's Corner?

View Guidelines

Have a comment or question? 
Contact Sundial Writer's Corner!

Erin Reid "Moths ... Butterflies" (July 31, 2015)

Friday, July 31, 2015

Poet Erin Reid is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - her ability to take in the smallest details of nature has become legendary among her community of friends...

 

Walter Thames "Pork Chops and Gravy" (July 30, 2015)

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Chef Walter Thames is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - every now and then he finds himself craving the down home cooking of his mother...

 

Allen Berry "Love Among Linguists" (July 29, 2015)

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Kay Campbell "Hearing Voices" (July 28, 2015)

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Joe Berry "The Old Man" (July 27, 2015)

Monday, July 27, 2015

Joe Berry is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - he'll always treasure his brief chats with the old gentleman down the lane...

 

Susan Luther "Core Cirriculum" (July 24, 2015)

Friday, July 24, 2015

Leslie Nicole Thomas "Pianoless" (July 23, 2015)

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Poet Leslie Nicole Thomas is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - her memories take her back to the joy of playing a piano, a pleasure not known to her close friend...

 

Ted Roberts "A Man's Accessories" (July 22, 2015)

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Sallie Estes "A Year In Bed" (July 21, 2015)

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Sallie Estes is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - much of her childhood learning was gained during a memorable year in bed...

 

Cindy Small "Young Eyes" (July 20, 2015)

Monday, July 20, 2015

Cindy Small is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she decided years ago that creating short stories was far more critical than pursuing an advanced degree - here's Cindy's true story of her mother's driving techniques...

 

Houston Hodges "Pulpit Accidents" (July 17, 2015)

Friday, July 17, 2015

Gail Hopson "Sequoyah" (July 16, 2015)

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Frances Akridge "JT, the Cobbler" (July 15, 2015)

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Beth Thames "Books for the Beach" (July 14, 2015)

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Wayne Holliday 'Grim Reaper' (July 13, 2015)

Monday, July 13, 2015

Danny Lindsey "Kiki" (July 10, 2015)

Friday, July 10, 2015

Danny Lindsey is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - as a boy, he was convinced that he had a lifelong partner in his feathered friend, Kiki...

Rose Battle "Dr. Pepper Horse Trader" (July 9, 2015)

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Rose Battle takes center stage in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she savors her childhood memories growing up with 3 siblings where life centered around politics and sports - here's Rose to tell us about the Dr. Pepper Horse Trader...

 

Stephan Onisick "Long Lost Relatives" (July 8, 2015)

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Sara McDaris "Water Crow" (July 7, 2015)

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Joyce Billingsley "Rita and Me" (July 6, 2015)

Monday, July 6, 2015

Joyce Billingsley is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she recently was given a precious gift - the renewal of a childhood friendship...

 

Pages

©2015 WLRH PUBLIC RADIO

Address

WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions

Phone

LOCAL:
(256) 895-9574

TOLL-FREE:
(800) 239-9574